Who is Responsible?

A life of leisure and a life of laziness are two things. There will be sleeping enough in the grave.” – Benjamin Franklin

I work with a company of people that have had the same opportunities as everyone else, but with hard work made big success. I go to school with people with an almost opposite mindset. They claim that teachers engage their students more, they would be more successful.

At Collegiate Entrepreneurs, I teach college students business and entrepreneurial skills then manage them in running their own painting business. The average manager gains the experience of doing $40,000 in volume and makes $9,000. The people that fail do so because they don’t put in the effo

rt. I would never interview someone who said that boredom is an obstacle to success. If their kids are hungry, they wont care if their parents are bored at work. I haven’t learned anything from any of my lectures at UMO because I can’t pay attention, but I have been successful because I find other ways to learn. Sure, I would love for classes to be more interesting, but I will be successful either way. My point is: I truly believe that people who want to be successful can be.

“Failure is not our only punishment for laziness; there is also the success of others.”-Jules Renard

The other people in my life say that American education sucks. They say students aren’t engaged or connected to material, parents don’t care, teachers are underpaid, and students just don’t have a chance. 

Can both opinions be correct? Who is responsible for a student’s education?


This entry was posted in Entrepreneurship. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who is Responsible?

  1. Pingback: What Happens to Learning When Grades Aren’t an Issue? | Stirring The Pot

Leave a Reply

